Songs of the Week (12.04.2019)

This week in music featured some awesome new releases from BATTS, Basenji, COLU, and HWLS!

Following his recent collaboration with Flume, High Beams (feat. slowthai) on his ‘Hi This Is Flume (Mixtape)’HWLS is back with a brand new EP; ‘Ep03’. Each track showcases some really interesting sound design; often utilising metallic textures and hollow synth sounds to create alien-like soundscapes. Although only four tracks long, the EP is without a doubt one of the coolest electronic releases of the year.

Similarly, Basenji surprised us with his new track Perfect Blue with Sydney’s own four-piece group; Erthlings! Both signed to Future Classic, the song combines both Basenji’s electronic bubbly style with Erthlings angelic and dream-like aesthetic.



Alleyne – Do Tell


Anderson .Paak – Come Home (feat. Andre 3000)


Kevin Abstract – Georgia


Jess Ribeiro – Lay Down With the Earth


The Sunday Estate – I Don’t Want To Be Alone

BATTS – Dark Heart


Aldous Harding – Fixture Picture


Courtney Barnett – Everybody Here Hates You


Body Type – Free To Air


Psychedelic Porn Crumpets – Bill’s Mandolin


Møme – Sail Away (Bondax Remix)


Basenji & Erthlings – Perfect Blue


Tora – Morphine




Marten Hørger & SkiiTour – Redlight (Odd Mob Remix)


HWLS & Tapecut – Ktown


Gentlemens Club – Let U Go


ZEKE BEATS – The Mammoth